Bryant Young joins Norm Van Brocklin as only Falcons coaches inducted into Hall of Fame

91077110 Seahawks v 49ers

Former Falcons defensive line coach Bryant Young joins Norm Van Brocklin as the only Falcons coaches to be voted into the Hall of Fame. On Thursday night, Young was inducted into Canton with the 2022 class.

He’s been eligible since 2013, and this was his second time as a finalist. Young joins nine other Falcons players that have been enshrined, the most recent being Tony Gonzalez in 2019.

Young coached at Notre Dame, San Jose State, and Florida before joining the Falcons as a defensive line coach in 2017. He joined Dan Quinn’s staff in Atlanta for two seasons in which the Falcons defensive line totaled 76 sacks. Ironically, Young reunited with Quinn. The two spent time in San Francisco together, with Quinn being Young’s position coach.

Before coaching, Young played 14 seasons for the 49ers and was the seventh overall pick in the 1994 NFL draft. He earned four Pro Bowl selections and won a Super Bowl during his rookie year. Young is still the franchise’s all-time leader in sacks with 89.5.

Congratulations, Bryant Young.

Photographer: Jeff Lewis/Icon Sportswire

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: