Braves: Fred McGriff finally gets in the Hall of Fame

357160302053 Braves at Orioles

Last night, Fred McGriff was officially voted into the Hall of Fame by the Contemporary Baseball Era Players Committee.

Fred McGriff was a part of an eight-player group that was voted on by a 16-person committee. Each player needed at least 75% of the vote to be elected, and McGriff was the only player chosen.

The Crime Dog finished seven home runs shy of 500 homers — a number that almost always results in a player being elected into the Hall-of-Fame. For his career, McGriff hit .284 with a .377 OBP and .509 slugging percentage. He also was a World Series champion as a member of the 1995 Atlanta Braves.

Among the seven players that were not chosen was Braves legend Dale Murphy. He had an unbelievable run from 1980-1987, where he made seven All-Star games and two NL MVPs, but the sustained success doesn’t appear to be there for him to be voted in. Murphy finished his career with a .265 average and 398 home runs.

Other all-time greats like Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, whose unbelievable careers were marred in controversy in the heart of the steroid era, also didn’t get in. I understand the stance Major League Baseball has taken on cheaters being allowed into the Hall of Fame, but I think it’s well past time for both of them to be elected. They are two of the very best players to ever pick up a baseball. Unfortunately, I’m not sure it will ever happen.

Photo: Cliff Welch/Icon Sportswire

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: