Braves win four Silver Slugger awards

cfp23040516 atl at stl

The Silver Slugger awards were announced today and three Braves have some new hardware for their trophy case, as well as the team.

For Ronald Acuña Jr., it’s his third Silver Slugger award. Next up, he’ll be announced as the NL MVP for the first time in his career.

For Austin Riley, it’s his second Silver Slugger award. Third base is a loaded position, but Riley’s consistency has quietly put him on the short list of the best players at the hot corner. It shouldn’t surprise anyone if he is the next Braves player to take home an NL MVP award.

For Matt Olson, it’s his very first Silver Slugger after mashing an MLB leading 54 homers with 139 RBIs. It was by far the best season of his career, and in many years prior, he would have run away with the NL MVP.

The Braves also won the first ever NL Silver Slugger team award, which may have been the least surprising of them all. The 2023 Braves will go down as one of the best offenses to ever grace the diamond together. They set a new record for team slugging percentage and tied the MLB record for most homers in a season with 307. The season ultimately ended in disappointment, but it shouldn’t take away from how historic this group was offensively. We may never see a team top what the Braves did this year… unless the 2024 Braves decide they want to up the ante.

Photographer: Keith Gillett/Icon Sportswire

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: